2021 April 17

My first post is about a dream I had last night/early this morning after going back to sleep. I was with my Uncle Rick, my Dad, and the rest of my family. It must have been out somewhere camping, and there were snakes in the water. But then it switched to a staircase in the entrance of stone building, maybe a hospital. I looked out to see vibrant purple and pink and red sunset with my father, exclaiming at it's beauty. When I turned around and was inside the hospital, I was perplexed because my dad was gone. My mom and uncle told me that I had just imagined that he was there. I was distraught upon learning that. When I woke up from the dream, my face was wet with tears.

I want to follow up with a poem based on the prompt for today on the Cuyahoga County Public Library's blog:

Prompt: Write a poem personifying 2020. Do not state what the personification is about.

She was lifening in a bottle.
In repose, unexposed.
She was a death of fresh air in the family, in the friends, in the feels
But here comes a comet of new life to keep this mother planet fresh
Fuck this death business, bury it and let it decompose

She is liquifying, on a diet of white pain pills
Her brain is turing blue, into soup
How could you not try
in an isolated helmet, protective gear
to shake it up?
How could you not try to make contact with life?

Life is a jar,
Spilled jam onto her breasts
Peanut butter on her booty
Objectification melting and evaporating off of her expectations